Under the wire

Happy new year, all. I really hope 2014 is a good one and brings growth and happiness.

On a personal level, 2013 has been quite an adventurous one for me, with an international move. But then, I am kind of a floozy with removal companies. I sleep around. This is the ninth city I’ve lived in, so far, and the third country. No wonder I don’t form a sentimental attachment to heavy items. But Wellington, you sure do make a good first impression. Maybe you’re the one.

Thanks to those tireless WSBN ladies, I’ve been sewing my little fingers off,  trying to keep up. The biggest project has been a mini maternity wardrobe for my sister, who’s expecting in early May. I made her three tops and the comfiest pair of lounge pants I have ever tried on and been tempted to keep for myself. Stretchy wide waistbands for all! But photos will have to wait til she gets around to taking some.

I also sewed a couple of things for a fundraiser day at the races in November. My horse is still running but it was an otherwise perfect day. They held a giant raffle and I donated a Christmas table runner and napkin set, and a baby quilt. The back of the quilt was a mixture of blue spots and hungry caterpillar. It kind of defeated the purpose of using up my scraps, as I had to buy a whole lot of extra linen and calico, but at least it’s for a good cause. And after eight napkins and two quilts, I’m ace at mitred corners.

RA fundraiser

A work trip to Palmerston North meant a quick detour to the Arthur Toye closing down sale, and two lovely cotton sateens and a cotton/linen stripe. None made it into the stash! They are all summer dresses. I only have photos of the striped dress so far, modelled on my Christmas break.

linen dress 1

This is Simplicity 2591, which is possibly the pattern most let down by its cover art, of all time. (Actually, wouldn’t that be a sensational competition? Please enter below! Winner gets a great dress and a big laugh). Here it is, in all its shiny mustardy glory:

2591

It is great for lots of reasons. Three neckline variations, including raglan cap sleeves, which I love. Princess bodice = a good fit. Gathers in front and back, to make room for the Christmas pudding. POCKETS (great big ones).

linen dress 2

It’s a fantastic pattern for stripes, as the side panels are on the bias.

linen dress 3

A couple of years ago I made the sleeveless V-neck version. Totally different dress. I love that.

Three hours of 2013 to go! Have fun, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Under the wire

  1. We hope you’ll stay too! Wellington is definitely a fab city. I know what you mean about moving a lot, I used to do that, I seem to have finally settled now though 🙂
    I love this dress, the fit is great and certainly it is a pattern I’ve ignored because of the awful front image. All that mustard yukkiness! But that pockets! It’s worth it for that 🙂

  2. I agree the pattern front artwork does nothing for the dress features. The dress looks fab on you – the side panels the move into pockets that don’t sit on the hips. It is actually a really nice pattern. I’ve been in Wellington for almost 3 years now and we are really enjoying it – it is such a compact wee city that has a small community feel with big city attractions. My kids love it as well, which is always the bonus

Leave a comment